1900The Penang Sports Club started as the Penang Cricket Club at the Esplanade in the early 1900's.1910The Penang Cricket Club was originally a single storey clubhouse. It was extended in later years into this two storey building situated next to the Municipal building. This club was a popular meeting place for the European community, especially cricket enthusiasts.1939The Penang Cricket Club moved to the present clubhouse in 1939 as the Penang Golf Club and then changed its name to Penang International Club. The clubhouse was at that time a military hospital and was later converted into an officer's mess when the Penang General Hospital was opened.1947The Penang Sports Club was established.1950The Penang Sports Club was officially registered with the Registrar of Societies on 21st February 1950TodayThe present-day Penang Sports Club comprises the Club's old building which has been renovated, and the two new wings to cater for the increasing number of its members through the years.The Cannon is a symbolic representation for the Club as it is one of the predominant landmarks unique to Penang Sports Club. Our Clubhouse is guarded by its two cannons and a mortar in the centre. These authentic Pre 18 century black powder cannons and mortar are part of the Club since the Club moved to its current building.
|File Size||5.21 MB|
|System Requirements||Compatible with: iphone4, ipad2wifi, ipad23g, iphone4s, ipadthirdgen, ipadthirdgen4g, iphone5, ipodtouchfifthgen, ipadfourthgen, ipadfourthgen4g, ipadmini, ipadmini4g|