When you delete a file, Windows changes a special byte and marks the occupied space as free space. But the file contents remains unchanged on the disk. You can easily restore such a file with special software. It is not the way to delete confidential information. This program overwrites the deleted file a few times in different ways with random numbers.
||Windows 95/98/Me/NT/2000/XP/2003 Server